Personal Development

Year of Yes: How to Dance It Out, Stand In the Sun and Be Your Own Person (Unabridged)

I finished listening to Year of Yes: How to Dance It Out, Stand In the Sun and Be Your Own Person (Unabridged) by Shonda Rhimes, narrated by Shonda Rhimes on my Audible app.

01-shonda-rhimes-year-of-yes

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

It was funny, inspiring and surprisingly relatable. Surprising because she is a famous and respected writer and I’m… well not so successful. The point I think is that in spite of whatever accolades one has, we’re humans first, and therefore susceptible to normal human conditions.

There were so many moments where I thought I was reading my autobiography… this is who I am she says: interior, silent, quiet, more comfortable with books than new situations, awkward at social interactions, fears public speaking, dislike small talk, pessimist, lack the energy for difficult conversations, thinks being a mother is one of the greatest things in life, deeply introverted. I could have easily written that book myself. Ok, so maybe not 🙂

Then there were quite a number of life lessons from Ms  Shonda and I want to ensure that I highlight what resonated most with me:

  1. Everyone has got some greatness in them but in order to mine it, you have to own it, believe it and grab hold of it…Confidently execute
  2. The only obstacle to your success is your own imagination…
  3. Every person deserves the freedom to live their lives and seek joys in ways they see fit, in safe conditions, free from reprisal or unwarranted antagonism from others
  4. Sometimes people doubt how strong they really are
  5. Don’t be afraid to celebrate your successes

It truly is a worthwhile read.

TONI

Try Audible and get it free: https://www.audible.com/pd?asin=B0163E2K22&source_code=AFAORWS04241590G4

3 thoughts on “Year of Yes: How to Dance It Out, Stand In the Sun and Be Your Own Person (Unabridged)

  1. I love this book. I think #2 is so important. I know way too many people who stand in their own way. It’s been so helpful. I think reading her book gave me a glimpse of what my future could be if I didn’t change. Though she’s successful, like her, I don’t want to live in fear.

    1. Yes! We have to take the necessary steps to live a life without fear or maybe not too much fear…some fear can be
      good right? 🙂

Leave a Reply

