Long Distance Relationship

A Little Love

Ten days ago my love and I celebrated six years of dating. On this day, we travelled to Reach Falls in Portland. It was a long journey but the beauty of this island was not lost on me. The rain was pouring when we arrived but we managed to have an enjoyable time regardless. I love road trips so that in itself was just great!

reach falls

It’s been six years of dating at long distance and I can’t help but wonder when that will end. There is no foreseeable end but at least we have decided to take certain moves towards that. I’m on the hunt for a job in his area and he in mine. I am so looking forward to a breakthrough because I would like to move past us only having a visiting relationship. I think one of the challenge is that we have not been intentional about it. It’s like we’re just waiting and if it happens, it happens. Or maybe it’s contentment, we’re just both so happy with the way things are that we would never consider changing it. Nah!

2016-03-11_15-15-52

It’s starting to be a real drag but I’ve been reminded of a few things that are important to make a long distance relationship work:

  1. Being patient and having faith
  2. Making plans to see each other regularly
  3. Frequent communication

I just need to exercise a little more patience, enjoy the times we get to spend with each other and even the time I have to focus on myself and my interests.

TONI

 

 

2 thoughts on “A Little Love

Leave a Reply

