Uncategorized

Nobody Knows That…

I started writing a song when I was about 16 or 17 years old. I had graduated high school, had nothing much to occupy my time and was bored as hell. Each day, my chores would be completed by 10 am, then I would read for a bit, sleep and then read some more. Occasionally, I would walk to visit my cousin who lived a little distance from me. Sighs…those were the days of my life 🙂

I don’t remember what inspired me to write that day but I know it had something to do with a fight or some other conflict. I sat behind my grandmother’s house, under the naseberry tree or sapodilla if you will, in the cool of day and wrote:

Why do we have to fight

And why do we kill

Isn’t it frustrating

to know that someone’s life

ended in your hands

why do you think

no one cares about you

Ok, so maybe I wrote two songs because I’m recalling the lyrics and melody in my head and something is not adding up. Let me continue:

I just want to say

I’m grateful for having you

in my life

I want to say thank you

I want to say

I want to say thank you

for being in my life

I want to say thank you

I love you

and I wish you were here

I’m saying thank you

and I love you for being in my life

I don’t know (x 2)

what I would do

if I didn’t have you

in my life

I want to say thank you

I love you for being in my life

Indeed, two very distinct sounds, the lyrics don’t even match. O my gosh, I didn’t realize I was such an accomplished song writer, lol. I am amazed that I’m able to recall this after so many years. And it’s also amazing the way they came back to me. I was at my desk at work and I started humming the tune. Where have I heard this song before, I wondered. Only to remember that it was the song I wrote in my grandmother’s backyard. Funny how the mind works.

TONI

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

