Career

Top 5: Criteria For My Next Job

The time has come. Actually, the time has passed and in my head, I’ve already resigned. I wish I could make this a reality but I got bills to pay, ok? Plus, I have to be realistic, how would I survive without this job?

When I started my current job, I made a commitment to myself that I would stay for no more than 5 years. Come May, it’s going to be six years so the time has definitely come. I’m very grateful that I was given the opportunity to do the job and I’m grateful for the camaraderie shared, the lessons learnt, the experience gained but it’s time that I move on to something else.

images (6)

However, I don’t simply want just any other job. I want to find something that I can see myself doing for the next three to five years. Job hopping every six months or so is certainly not for me. I’ve been trying to determine what kind of job appeals to me but while doing that, it dawned on me that I live in a third world country with high unemployment and very limited opportunities to choose from. How selective can I then be? The fact of the matter is, I cannot afford not to because I do NOT want to end up in another position that I dislike. I don’t want to keep having to tell/persuade myself that…

images (1)

So, this time around, the five most critical things that I am looking for/at are:

  1. the nature of the job, duties and responsibilities – first thing! If the job requires me to record minutes of meetings regularly, then I DON’T want it
  2. the level of compensation
  3. the location of the job
  4. autonomy – oh, I so look forward to the day when I am treated like the adult that I am
  5. opportunities for growth – I would love if that company provides ongoing training, job rotation and basically outlines the trajectory of the particular position.
  6. So these are the top priorities that will inform my job search. The two that are of utmost importance to me right now are location and compensation. Honestly, I want to go far away from here and start anew.

    Nevertheless, that won’t happen so having a clear list of priorities will help to steer me in the right direction since I was almost at the point where I just wanted to send my resume all over the place. The irony is staring me right in the face…I can’t even jumpstart my career and this was my training but I’ll talk about that another time.

    I’m hopeful.

    TONI

    Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

