JourneytoMotherhood

My Myomectomy: Journey to Motherhood

Imagine that as a teenager, you decided that you didn’t want kids. Your response when people would ask about your husband possibly wanting kids was that you would adopt. Then you grow up, meet a guy, start a relationship and decide that maybe you do want to have kids. You start to envision life as a mother to 2 or 3 beautiful kids. You’re a strong and healthy girl so the picture in your mind is birthing your child in the most normal circumstances… but sometimes life puts a stumbling block in your way.

I found out in 2011, at the age of 23, that I had a fibroid. At the time I found out, it was small and I guess I could have tried to get pregnant then but my boyfriend and I had only been together for a year and was most certainly not ready for children – it being a lifetime commitment and all. Even though the fibroid was small, it still affected me a great deal and after about a year, I wanted to get rid of it. I discussed with my doctor and the only option was SURGERY.

I most certainly was not ready to do that! Talk about scared. Moreover, I had decided to go back to school and I most certainly would not have been able to afford both surgery and school in the same year. My only option was to delay the procedure until I completed grad school, which I did in July 2015.

IMG_20151013_120430150.JPG
October 13, 2015

By now, it’s 4 years later and I’m walking around looking like I’m 20-weeks pregnant and frustrated with all the related problems like recurrent urinary tract infection, heavy periods, constant spotting and urge to pee. I need not mention that several persons actually asked if I was pregnant. And so the decision was made, no more delays, I would do my surgery in December 2015.

Of course I continued to question my decision. Did I really want to do this? Is this my only choice? What if I first tried to get pregnant and see what happens? All valid questions I thought but I think I was more motivated to finally be rid of all my problems.

December came and it was time! I finalized all arrangements to have my myomectomy, which was scheduled for the 14th of December at 6am.

I checked into the hospital a little after 4:00pm on Sunday December 13th, accompanied by my mom and boyfriend who stayed with me until the close of visiting hours. I may have cried a little after they left.

IMG_20151220_053328436
My hospital bed

The day come for surgery. The nurses woke me around 5:00am, I spoke to my honey then took a shower and they inserted a catheter. O. My. God. The most uncomfortable thing ever!! And the nurse who was doing was apparently blind because she kept poking to find my urethra. I hope I never have to do that again I swear. Anyway, with the catheter in, I waited to be brought to the operating room.

Right before I entered the room, they inserted the IV. Of course they had to experience difficulty finding a good vein. This was however less painful than the catheter insertion.

Into the OR I went, transferred to the operating table and basically put to sleep immediately. I woke up to my boyfriend standing over me. I was back in my hospital room and it was some time after 10:00am. When did I get here I thought? I vaguely remembered anything. I was just so groggy, all I wanted to do was sleep and that I did. In the evening, I was still very sleepy but managed not to mumble my words 🙂

By Tuesday, I was able to move about and was so excited when I was released from the hospital on Wednesday December 16. However when I got home, I didn’t feel so well and started vomiting early the next morning. Suffice it to say, I was readmitted on Thursday December 17 for reasons still unknown.

IMG_20151212_083801796-COLLAGEThe doctor thought it may have been the food I ate and that my stomach was a bit sluggish. Shrugs. I was peeved at myself and just wanted to get well. They basiaclly restarted the recovery process. I was on the IV and got nothing to eat for the first 24 hours back in, then I was put on a liquid diet for two days, then gradually I got solid food to eat. I finally got discharged on Monday December 21 but the same problem occurred when I went home. I just started vomiting! I was so scared that I was going to be readmitted but it finally stopped. After that I didn’t want to eat anything fearing that I would start regurgitating again. I put myself on a liquid diet 🙂 That lasted only a few days because come on, it was Christmas!

I spent the rest of time recuperating at my boyfriend’s house. Today is 7 weeks post operation and everything was okay until I noticed yesterday what looks like a sore on my scar. How did that get there? Why is it there? What else can go wrong? All valid questions I think. I’m just so darn tired. I thought my visits to the doctor’s office were over, if only for a little while.

At least I am one step closer in my journey but I have to wait…wait until another two months have passed, wait until zika virus spreads through and leave the island, wait until I have money, wait, wait, wait…

Then after all the waiting, I don’t get the chance or CHOICE to have a normal birth because once you do a myomectomy, a c-section is mandatory. At this point, I can only hope that I won’t have any fertility issues as well and I will be able to one day soon bring a healthy child into the world!

TONI

 

Leave a Reply

